Suzanne Richmond-Crum Award

As part of the annual recognition of World AIDS Day, the Harm Reduction Services Branch of the Hawai`i Department of Health gives the Suzanne Richmond-Crum award to an individual in Hawaii “for outstanding contribution in providing HIV/AIDS services.” This award is dedicated to the memory of Suzanne Richmond-Crum, the former Director of the Hawaii Seropositivity and Medical Management Program (HSPAMM), an HIV/AIDS medical care program of the STD/AIDS Prevention Branch.  Suzanne passed away in August 2004 after serving as Director of HSPAMM for more than ten years.  This award was established in memory of the competence and compassion Suzanne demonstrated in her HIV/AIDS work.


dr shikuma picture a


Dr. Cecilia Shikuma
 to receive 2018 Suzanne Richmond-Crum Award on World AIDS Day

The Hawai‘i State Department of Health Harm Reduction Services Branch is pleased to announce that Dr. Cecilia Shikuma has been named as the recipient of the 2018 Suzanne Richmond-Crum Award. The award will be presented during the annual World AIDS Day ceremony at the Church of the Crossroads on Saturday, December 1.

For over 30 years Dr. Shikuma has been a researcher, director, grant reviewer, mentor, clinical care provider, and consultant for local, national and international clinicians. She has worked tirelessly in treating all people living with HIV with dignity and care. She has developed a legacy by promoting HIV research in Hawaii which has been recognized nationally and internationally.  As a professor at the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa, Dr. Shikuma helped to establish the Hawaii Center for AIDS and an important HIV clinic at UH’s John A Burns School of Medicine.

Her vision of making Hawai’i the first state to achieve an AIDS-free generation is inspirational and she is leading the charge in getting “Hawai’i to Zero.” Due to her efforts, and by collaborating with the State of Hawai’i Department of Health and statewide AIDS Service Organizations, her goal of achieving “Hawai’i to Zero” is now well on its way to becoming a reality.

Dr. Bruce Shiramizu, an HIV medical provider, said “Dr. Shikuma has gone above and beyond the call of duty in making sure that the care provided to patients in the Clint Spencer Clinic is state of the art. Her significant accomplishments and outstanding contributions in the area of providing and improving HIV/AIDS care in Hawai’i have benefited patients, partners, families, organizations, and other professionals throughout the state.”


Past Suzanne Richmond-Crum Award Recipients

  • 2017 – Paul Groesbeck
  • 2016 – Chuck Lyden
  • 2015 – Cindy Medeiros
  • 2014 – Fred Cruz, PRh.
  • 2013 – Dominic Chow, MD
  • 2012 – Lenard Allen
  • 2011 – Pat Paakaula
  • 2010 – Georgie Kennedy
  • 2009 – Jon Berliner
  • 2008 – Tom Sheeran
  • 2007 – Ruth Antone
  • 2006 – Cyril Goshima, MD
  • 2005 – John Manion
  • 2004 – Jaimie Callahan